Dog Licenses

Libby and Gracie 2
Licensing Requirements
Dogs are required to be licensed every year by Michigan State Law. Read more at the Michigan Legislature website.

Proof of Rabies
To obtain a license, a proof of current rabies vaccination is needed.

License Renewals
Dogs must be licensed every year. The license is valid January 1 through December 31. To avoid a late fee, license must be purchased by June 1.

Licensing Locations

Type of License
Phone Number
3-Year Licenses
Oakland County Animal Control
1200 N. Telegraph Rd, Bldg. 42 East
Pontiac, MI 48341
1-Year Licenses
Waterford Township Treasurer's Office
5200 Civic Center Drive
Waterford, MI 48329
Either Licenses Some local veterinarians
Either Licenses
Oakland County Treasurer's Office
1200 N Telegraph Road, Court House
Pontiac, MI 48341

License Fees

Type of License
Fee if Spayed or Neutered
Fee if not Spayed or Neutered
Resident who pays on or before June 1
$15.00 $25.00
Senior citizen (65 years or older) who pays on or before June 1
$14.00 $23.00
Any resident who pays after June 1
$40.00 $40.00
Exceptions to June 2 Fee Increase
  • New resident (within 30 days)
  • New dog (within 30 days)
  • Dog just turned 4 months of age (within 30 days)