Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The Waterford Township Police Department no longer offers fingerprint services to the public. Please contact the Oakland County Sheriff's Department at 248-858-5000.
Show All Answers
You must be a Waterford resident, have a valid Michigan drivers license or personal ID, have no prior felony convictions or domestic violence convictions, not be subject to a personal protection order or conditional bond release and have no current arrest warrants.
Permits to purchase a hand gun are obtained through the Waterford Police Records Bureau. The phone number of the Records Bureau is 248-674-0351, Prompt 4. Business hours for this service are listed in the chart below. There is no cost for a purchase permit. Notary fee is $10.
NOTE: On March 3, 2020, the United States Department of Justice Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) determined that the Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) no longer qualifies as a National Instant Criminal Background Check (NICS) alternative permit for possessing and transporting firearms.
Michigan CPL-holders who purchase firearms from or through a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL) should expect to undergo a NICS background check through the FFL, as required by federal law. Questions regarding the NICS background check should be directed to the Federal Bureau of Investigation NICS Section at 1-877-FBI-NICS (877-324-6427).
Gun Permit Hours:Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
To apply for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in the State of Michigan as of July 1, 2001, you must be a Michigan resident 21 years of age or older, have been a state resident for at least six months, have no criminal history, and be in good mental health, in addition to several other requirements. CPL applications can be printed at Michigan.gov.
Applicants will then have to take the completed CPL application to the Oakland County Sheriff's Office for processing. The fees for this service are set by law. For more information about the changes in the law and your individual requirements, please see the website.
Applicants who receive a CPL permit may now use it to purchase a hand gun and will no longer be required to obtain a separate purchase permit, as long as their CPL remains valid.
Michigan State Police CPL page.
Public records may be obtained on-line or in person from the Police Records Bureau. All records requests require a Police FOIA Request form completed and sent to the Waterford Police Records Bureau at PDFOIARequest@waterfordmi.gov
The phone number to the Records Bureau is 248-674-0351, Prompt 4. Business hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Records Bureau is closed on national holidays. The fee for an Incident Report is $0.50 per page. The fee for a Crash report is $11.00. Crash reports can also be obtained online at https://payments.clemis.orgCash, Check or Money Order is accepted for payment at the Police Department. No credit or debit cards. Colored photos are $3.00 each.
The Records Bureau will not release a copy of a police report that is assigned to a Detective if the case is still under investigation.
Employment with the Waterford Township Police Department is based on Civil Service rules. Waterford Township is an equal opportunity employer.
Human Resources can be called at 248-674-6252. www.waterfordmi.gov/jobs
Personal Protection Orders are orders that may be issued by a Circuit Court Judge. To begin the process of obtaining a PPO, one must start by filing for a Personal Protection Order with the Oakland County Clerk's Office. The County Clerk's Office is located on the ground floor of the Oakland County Circuit Court (the building on Telegraph with "1200" at the top). PPO's are not obtained through a police department.
Oakland County Circuit Court's Website
For information on Internet safety for children, please visit the website of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.
There are 2 types of property, evidence property and prisoner property.
Evidence property will be released by appointment only, through the Officer in Charge of the case. Contact the Officer in Charge for an appointment.
Front desk personnel will release prisoner property between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m., no appointment necessary.
All traffic tickets issued in Waterford Township must be paid for at the 51st District Court. The Police Department does not accept any money for traffic tickets. The 51st District Court is open between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and is located on the Township complex at
5100 Civic Center DriveWaterford, MI 48329The Court's phone number is 248-674-4655.
Additionally, you can pay your tickets online at apps.clemis.org
For more information please go to the Police Traffic Complaint webpage.